South Carolina Districts 1800-1814
In 1800, most of the counties were transformed into districts. Some older districts were abolished: Pinckney, Ninety-Six, Camden, and Cheraws. Claremont, Clarendon, and Salem counties became Sumter District. Marion District, Horry District, and Williamsburg District were formed from partsof Georgetown District. Colleton District was formed from part of Charleston District. Barnwell District and Lexington District were formed from parts of Orangeburg District.

© 2002 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved