South Carolina Districts 1786-1790
Part of the unorganized Indian land, which had been taken from the Cherokee Indians during the Revolution became Greenville County in 1786. In 1789, the remainder became Pendleton County. A few counties had been laid out in the low-country counties of Georgetown, Charleston, and Beaufort - but there, where the old parish system was well established the new counties failed to take root.

© 2002 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved